A Forthwith Review of Eckhart Tolle's 'The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment'

Updated on January 27, 2019
Guckenberger profile image

Alex is an active member of his church, a student of philosophy, and he has visited many holy houses of worship.

Where there is anger there is always pain underneath.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'
Source

Oprah And Tolle

Die to the past every moment. You don't need it. Only refer to it when it is absolutely relevant to the present. Feel the power of this moment and the fullness of Being. Feel your presence.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

A Momentary Introduction

'The Power Of Now' is one of my all-time favorite reads. I've read it, and I've listened to the audiobook. That isn't to state that it isn't very controversial. Some people hate it, and others absolutely love it; I'm not sure how many individuals actually fall in-between. I'd be surprised to hear anyone challenge that the book is one of the most influential pieces of art of the 20th century. Eckhart Tolle's famous book has given me countless hours of meditative practice and readiness. Trying to be ready for something that is already here seems funny to consider, and it is that type of thinking that this book helps to inspire.

Thinking is only a small aspect of consciousness. Thought cannot exist without consciousness, but consciousness does not need thought.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

Tolle's Illustration Of Religious Ideologies

I'm not sure I should start a discussion about this book without bringing into the light the views surrounding religion in 'The Power Of Now'. I will give my two cents as I do. It would appear to me that Tolle's definition of "God" is limited. When I refer to God, I am usualy making a reference to Heavenly Father. Eckhart, on the other hand, is aware of a number of definitions for the word, and thus stays smartly far from it in his talks. When Eckhart described ideas that people usually associate with the word "God", Tolle explains that it is the thing itself and not the name which is important.

Nothing has happened in the past; it happened in the Now. Nothing will ever happen in the future; it will happen in the Now.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

Now, Tolle's views on the Savior and the Buddha are, to some, very contentious. To these people, I would like to point out that language is not always to be taken literally. Humans should be taught how to identify items like poetic language. I remember Alan Watts once stating something in one lecture to the tune that his intent was not to teach people a set of beliefs, but to get people to think in a different way; to play with that vital organ - the mind. This is, in many respects, how I view this book. If I took the book in its entirety a work to be perceived literally, much of my praise would not be placed herein. However, I do recognize things like hyperbole and metaphor; thus, this work will receive five stars in my rating.

Realize deeply that the present moment is all you have. Make the NOW the primary focus of your life.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

The Audiobook Versus The Paper Version

One thing that is really amazing about the audiobook version is that Eckhart Tolle reads the majority of the book himself. I love when the author is the narrator in the audio version. I noted that at least one word was changed. This makes sense, as we are listening to him in the audiobook and not reading his book in the traditional sense. One of the advantages of the paperback version is the symbols between thoughts. Tolle places a number of symbols throughout his work, and these serve to remind the reader to meditate of what has been read. I personally find this feature very helpful, and it is an item that couldn't be completely incorporated into the audiobook for obvious reasons..

Love is not selective, just as the light of the sun is not selective. It does not make one person special. It is not exclusive.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

A Timeless Conclusion

'The Power Of Now' is one of the most fascinating books to have been published in my lifetime. I wouldn't recommend this piece of art to everyone, but I very much enjoy it myself. I love the work, I love the author, and I will assuredly be giving this book five stars!

Have you ever read this book?

See results

What a caterpillar calls the end of the world we call a butterfly.

— Eckhart Tolle, 'The Power Of Now'

'The Power Of Now'

5 stars for 'The Power Of Now: A Guide To Spiritual Enlightenment'

Questions & Answers

    © 2019 Alexander James Guckenberger

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • profile image

        shriram 

        5 months ago

        Hi thank you for the nice article

        thank you

        http://techsdot.com

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        6 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Jo Miller, You're not old. I'm happy that I introduced you to this. I think that you'll love it! Do you know where you read the last part of your comment? O.O

      • jo miller profile image

        Jo Miller 

        6 months ago from Tennessee

        I've never read this work, but then I'm old and often out of touch--which doesn't bother me much. You've whetted my appetite and I'll check it out further.

        God is just a word, I once read, that we humans made up about something we are yearning for. We know little, so far, about it.

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Ikram, that's very exciting for me. It can be somewhat life changing. :)

      • Ikram Afzal profile image

        Ikram Afzal 

        7 months ago from Pakistan

        After reading your article I also have decided to read the book.

        Thanks for such a solid review.

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Layne, I mostly just listen to his lectures too. Is there a favorite recording for you of Alan Watts?

      • Layne Holmes profile image

        Layne Holmes 

        7 months ago from Bend, Oregon

        Sections of Cloud-Hidden and Still the Mind some time ago but mostly listened to recordings.

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Layne, have you ever read any books by Alan Watts?

      • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

        Alexander James Guckenberger 

        7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

        Maya, I've never finished reading 'A New Earth', but now I feel inspired to!

      • profile image

        mayaellenson 

        7 months ago

        Excellent review! Eckhart Tolle is one of my favorite gurus. I come back to New Earth and The Power of Now every now and then to refresh their flow in my heart and mind. If everyone on our planet tunes into Tolle's worldview, mindfulness and awareness will become our very state of being -- and as a result-- we'll create a high-vibrational reality, full of harmony and synergy vs. antagonism and polarity. Unfortunately, so called organized and stifling religions with their rigid belief systems keep a good deal of humanity deprived of their innate ability to stay fully present in order to connect with their formless aspect with no beginning and now end, in other words, to soar freely.

      • Layne Holmes profile image

        Layne Holmes 

        7 months ago from Bend, Oregon

        I really enjoy Eckhart Tolle, I like Alan Watts as well. Very nice sharing this review. I've only read excerpts but I can imagine the power of The Power of Now.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
      ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)