Book Review: A Man Called Ove

Updated on November 26, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

 
 
Title
A Man Called Ove
Author
Fredrik Backman
Original Title
En man som heter Ove
Published
July 15th 2014 by Atria Books (first published August 27th 2012)
Page Count
337
Genre
Fiction

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman is a beautiful story about the transformations we go through in life and how different events in our life affect us, shape us, and make us who we are today. It is a magnificent tale of true love and human values.

For the greatest fear of death is always that it will pass us by. And leave us there alone.

— Fredrik Backman, A Man Called Ove
A Man Called Ove: A Novel
A Man Called Ove: A Novel

An excellent heartwarming and humorous book. One of the best books I've read.

 

Summary

Ove is a grumpy, old man and feels that he has no reason to live. After his beloved wife Sonja's death, he is lonely and wants to kill himself. Ove functions within a strict routine and set of beliefs where there is no room for deviation. During his morning walk, he never fails to check if any cars have been stolen from his residential lane.He has even planned for his impending death- all the bills paid, newspaper subscription cancelled, his will kept on the table top, due arrangements made for his beloved car and the walls of the room covered with sheets so that they don't get dirty.

His set routine is interrupted when Parvaneh – a very pregnant Iranian refugee -- and her family moves next door.Her arrival brings a refreshing change in Ove's lonely existence and provides him with a reason to live again.At the heart of the novel remains a tragic & struggling childhood and a love story that will touch the core of your heart..

People said Ove saw the world in black and white. But she was color. All the color he had.

— Fredrik Backman, A Man Called Ove

My Review

Fredrik Backman builds the character of Ove piece by piece. You are introduced to a disgruntled Ove who mutters curses under his breath every time he faces a change in his routine. With every chapter, you are pushed closer to the true character beneath the tough exterior of Ove. As the story traverses into Ove’s childhood, you understand why he is the kind of man who does more and talks little. And you can understand his love for Sonja because the vivacious Sonja was the only one who truly understood and cherished Ove.

The book is full of humour. Ove’s imagined conversations with Ernest, the cat are hilarious and make for the best portions of the novel. Both Ove and Ernest are inescapable companions turning to each other out of loneliness and eventually saving each other.

The novel brings to the fore the loneliness and futility of modern life. Ove’s obsession for orderliness is a call to an unsullied life when everyone had a set role to play and there was little regard for appearances. Ove's story is of dealing with loss of a loved one, of heaving with grief, of rediscovery and allowing others to fill the empty gaps. Inspite of all his faults, Ove had a very large heart, quite literally.

The book is simply hilarious, insightful, heart warming and just plain awesome. This is a tale that makes you appreciate life! It seems quite simple at first but there is more depth to this book as the story unfolds. And as the book ended, I was so thankful I had the opportunity to read this. You will too. All in all, this is a great happy-emotional- humorous-sad book, and I highly recommend it!

My Rating: 4.5/5


We always think there's enough time to do things with other people. Time to say things to them. And then something happens and then we stand there holding on to words like 'if'.

— Fredrik Backman, A Man Called Ove

About The Author

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish columnist, blogger and best-selling writer. He is the author of A Man Called Ove , My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry , Britt-Marie Was Here , Beartown (2016), and Us Against You. His books are published in more than thirty-five languages. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children.

A Man Called Ove (Film)

A Man Called Ove is a Swedish film written and directed by Hannes Holm, and is based on author Fredrik Backman's 2012 book of the same name. Rolf Lassgård plays the lead role.The film was nominated for six awards at the 51st Guldbagge Awards in 2016 and it won in two categories.It was also nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film and Best Makeup and Hairstyling categories at the 89th Academy Awards.

A Man Called Ove - Official Trailer

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      5 months ago from India

      @Imran I am sure you will like it.

    • Indelible whisper profile image

      Imran khan 

      5 months ago from Mumbai

      I am so going to read it.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      10 months ago from India

      I haven't seen the movie but the book is awesome.

    • lawrence01 profile image

      Lawrence Hebb 

      10 months ago from Hamilton, New Zealand

      Shaloo

      I've got to watch out for this book or movie. My Swedish is rusty, but the movie looks awesome.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      11 months ago from london

      Oh Yes! have some Divali poems here and almost forgot. It is one of my favourite celebrations. Happy Divali!!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      11 months ago from India

      A most wonderful tale indeed, Manatita...wish you and your family a very happy Diwali!!

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      11 months ago from london

      I like how the story flows … how you ran with it … how the author allowed it to unfold. Beautiful! No need to say that so much of life is like that if we can appreciate it. A most wonderful tale. Kudos to you and to Fredrik Backman. Om Shanti!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      11 months ago from India

      Thanks Bill! This is one of the best books I have read this year. Much recommended!!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      11 months ago from Olympia, WA

      I love the review and I suspect I would love the book. Thank you for the tip. I just might read this one.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      11 months ago from India

      Thanks John! It's indeed a lovely book. I am sure you will love it too!

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      11 months ago from Queensland Australia

      Shaloo, this sounds like a truly beautiful book. I need to read it. Wonderful review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)