Book Review: Destined to Win by Kris Vallotton (2017)

Updated on January 4, 2018
MsDora profile image

MsDora, seven-year online writer, shares poetry, creative writing, quotes and reflections on how writing and writers influence our lives.

Kris Vallotton's Destined to Win solves the mystery for individuals who clearly see what their success looks like, but cannot figure out how to reach it. They find themselves standing still, backtracking or moving inconsistently. For them, the author delivers effectively on his sub-title: How to Embrace Your God-Given Identity and Realize Your Kingdom Purpose.

Source

It is unfortunate that Kris chooses a book title that several other authors have used. Readers might think that his book is another run-of-the mill steps to success, but that is not the case.

His emphasis is on individuals knowing, embracing and presenting who they are, not only as physical and emotional images to be admired, but also as souls with their weaknesses and failures which God is able to restore and lead to their divine purpose.

The Thomas Nelson publication released January 3, 2017, consists of 13 chapters within 224 pages, and is an easy read for individuals interested in the Christian Living genre. Yet, even the non-religious wanting a serious push forward toward fulfilling their destiny can benefit from the mind-set which is nurtured in this book. The Scripture texts and illustrations Vallotton includes are practical and easily applicable.

About Kris Vallotton

President, National Assembly of Ecuador receives Kris Vallotton

Kris Vallotton (center) . Photo Credit:  Asamblea Nacional del Ecuador (2011)
Kris Vallotton (center) . Photo Credit: Asamblea Nacional del Ecuador (2011) | Source

For more than 17 years, Kris has been teaching internationally about restoration and purpose. He is co-founder of the Bethel School of Ministry in Redding, California where students are trained and equipped to minister in their God-given potential. It is from these experiences along with his personal bouts of failures, misdirection and redirection that he writes effectively.

Kris has authored more than one dozen books and training manuals aimed at helping individuals as well as world leaders achieve their goals and fulfill their destiny. His leadership insights and skills are the result of diverse responsibilities in the business, counseling, teaching and pastoring.

Themes Throughout the Book

Early in the book, Kris cites the example of a woman called Marilyn Monroe who was externally beautiful and desirable, but inwardly was the abused and broken woman named Norma Jean Mortenson.

He follows up throughout the rest of the book showing readers how to stop pretending, be themselves and walk confidently into their success. Through illustrations and questions which call for honest introspection, readers make their own choices about what they need to do after studying the discussion themes which include:

  • tridimensional (spirit, soul, body) health and wholeness;
  • the conversion of character weaknesses into strength;
  • finding the right people, the right place, the right structure to enhance success;
  • defining relationships and embracing team diversity;
  • surviving life's crucibles; building roads to the destination.

One Minute Book Trailer

Personal Opinion

It is impossible to read Destined to Win and not make immediate changes in thought patterns which make us doubt that we are created to be successful. Kris gives guaranteed measures to help us find the right associates who will help us succeed. He illustrates this with stories from his ministry.

This is not a book about theoretical, spiritual notions. It does not tell a person with a problem to "give it to Jesus." Prayer helps but Kris adds practical solutions which come from practical human assistance.

Chapter 5: Discovering Your People is my favorite because it tells us how to find our people. Kris asks a series of questions which help readers define who they are, and the kind of people who will help them. For example:

  • Do you view yourself doing ordinary things in extraordinary ways?
  • Do you hate the predictable and the mundane and long for adventure?
  • Do tears overcome you as you stare into the empty eyes of children?

Each set of questions defines different people and each person make his or her own assessment concerning which group to belong. The following chapter addresses the unfortunate situation of hanging with the wrong people and how to get rid of them. Most of us need this advice.

Favorite Quotes

The following 2 short quotes from Destined to Win has even greater impact when read in context:

  • Your seat of servanthood is your throne of destiny.
  • You and I are called to serve God by serving people. But we are not called to serve people instead of serving God.

Recommendation

This book is recommended for all individuals who believe that they are alive because God has a purpose for their lives.

Those who have their path figured out will appreciate the affirmation that Kris Vallotton gives.

Those still seeking guidance will receive answers to questions they always wanted to ask, as well as to questions they never thought to ask.

It is all about walking life's journey toward the destination God designed for each one, and each one deserves to win.

Disclosure

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program (http://www.booklookbloggers.com/). I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Questions & Answers

    © 2017 Dora Weithers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        18 months ago from The Caribbean

        Eboni, thanks for keeping your word. This was my first review in a long time, and it was easier than some of the others to grasp. The self-improvement potential grabbed me also.

      • profile image

        Eboni 

        18 months ago

        Thanks for asking my opinion on your book reviews. You selected great titles. This one also encourages me to read for self-improvement. The favorite quotes is a nice touch.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        19 months ago from The Caribbean

        Lawrence, putting this book on your list would not be a bad idea. Thanks for reading and adding your comment.

      • profile image

        Lawrence Hebb 

        19 months ago

        MsDora

        This review makes the book sound like I need to put it on my 'to read' list.

        Blessings

        Lawrence

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        19 months ago from The Caribbean

        Thanks, Bill. I maintain that the book is helpful to everyone. I've read some other reviews that attack the author's ministry, but there is nothing discrediting about the book itself. I recommend it.

      • lifegate profile image

        William Kovacic 

        19 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

        I like how you say, "Yet, even the non-religious wanting a serious push forward toward fulfilling their destiny can benefit from the mind-set which is nurtured in this book." It includes everybody, and everybody can benefit from it. I've not read it, but I'll add to my list of possible future reading.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Martie, thanks for reading although it seems you have had your share of these books. I appreciate you!

      • MartieCoetser profile image

        Martie Coetser 

        20 months ago from South Africa

        Destined to Win by Kris Vallotton sounds like a very interesting and encouraging book. At a time in my life I was quite addicted to books like these. Thanks, MsDorah, for this helpful and useful review.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Yes, Audrey. It is in the mind that we prepare to win. Glad that you can relate. You will enjoy and learn from the book.

      • vocalcoach profile image

        Audrey Hunt 

        20 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

        " make immediate changes in thought patterns which make us doubt that we are made created to be successful." Yes MsDora, change begins in the mind. I work on this daily, minute-by-minute and can testify that this is the foundation for improvement. Purchasing this book and thank you.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Mary, you got that right. Kris' tridimensional concept is success in our physical, emotional and spiritual being. From his business experience alongside his ministry, he shows how positioning one's self includes structuring for financial success as well.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Thanks Peg. The book is indeed very positive and it touched me deep down with the motivation to continue on toward fulfilling my personals goals which are really the same as my Kingdom goals.

      • Blond Logic profile image

        Mary Wickison 

        20 months ago from Brazil

        This is one of the first 'success' books I have heard about which has included the spiritual guidance as well. It sounds like the perfect middle ground for those who are seeking to improve their lives, not just financially, but their whole being.

        Thank you for your review.

      • PegCole17 profile image

        Peg Cole 

        20 months ago from Dallas, Texas

        I like this expanded insight into the message, "We are known by the company we keep." Also, I enjoyed reading your observation, "It is impossible to read Destined to Win and not make immediate changes in thought patterns which make us doubt that we are made created to be successful." Sounds like a positive and uplifting read. Thanks for this.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Maria, thanks for reading. Destined to Win can be found at any major book site or store: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com to name a few. Enjoy!

      • Maria Dorland profile image

        MariaInes 

        20 months ago from Johannesburg

        I am going to look for this book! Thank you MsDora.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Flourish, this is just one book, but your reference to books suggests to me that I should keep doing it. Thanks for the affirmation.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Lori, I share your concern about the meaning of success in terms of spirituality. In Kris Vallotton's book, success means fulfilling your destiny--the assignment which God planned for you. It includes Kingdom business.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Thanks, Bill. Serious reading is on my agenda this year, and as you know, I'm also reading Resurrecting Tobias. I focused on Destined to Win, so I could write the article and yes, I like the message.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        20 months ago from USA

        I like that you are reviewing books that can potentially help others. This sounds like one that many people would benefit from.

      • lambservant profile image

        Lori Colbo 

        20 months ago from Pacific Northwest

        I have always struggled with the word success in terms of spiritual journeys. That's not to say it's wrong, it's just a word we hear so much in the secular realm and so it's my hang up but I do think I get what you, and the author mean. If you had not published this review I never would have considered this book if I'd seen it on a shelf because of its title. I am intrigued now though and will have to look into it. You put this together very well. Nice work Dora.

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        20 months ago from Olympia, WA

        I love the positive message. I doesn't surprise me at all that you read it, reviewed it, and found it helpful. You are a very positive person and I'm proud to know you.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Laura, thanks for your kind comment. Glad to reference the kind of book that you want to read.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Eric, no matter where you are on your journey, this book will boost your confidence going forward. Yes, everyone should read it.

      • Laura335 profile image

        Laura Smith 

        20 months ago from Pittsburgh, PA

        I've been looking for material like this. I'll add it to my Goodreads to-read list. Great review!

      • Ericdierker profile image

        Eric Dierker 

        20 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

        Dora this was great, it seems like a book one just has to have read in life.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)