Book Review: Inferno

Updated on July 6, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

 
 
Title
Inferno
Author
Dan Brown
Language
English
Genre
Mystery/Thriller
Series
Robert Langdon #4
Publisher
Doubleday
Date of Publication
May 14, 2013
No. of Pages
609
ISBN
978-0-385-53785-8
Preceded by
The Lost Symbol
Followed by
Origin

Inferno is a mystery thriller by Dan Brown and is the fourth book in his Robert Langdon series, the previous ones being Angels & Demons, The Da Vinci Code and The Lost Symbol. The next book in the series is Origin. Inferno was published in 2013 and was later adapted into a film.

Inferno (Robert Langdon)
Inferno (Robert Langdon)

An interesting thriller by Dan Brown which takes Robert Langon through Itlay and Istanbul in search of a mysterious virus.

 

Nothing is more creative... nor destructive... than a brilliant mind with a purpose.

— Dan Brown, Inferno

Summary

Robert Langdon, a Harvard University professor wakes up in a hospital with little recollection of what has happened to him. He has been shot in the head but he recalls nothing. To his utter shock, he realizes he is in Florence, Italy. Suddenly Vayentha, an assassin enters the scene trying to kill him. Robert manages to escape with the help of Dr. Sienne Brooks. Soon Robert finds a cylinder with a biohazard sign which was hidden in his jacket. He realizes that there are some mysterious people out there to kill him while his own government is not supporting him and probably wants him dead. On opening the cylinder, Robert Langdon finds that it is fitted with a hi-tech projector that displays a modified version of Botticelli’s Map of Hell which was in turn inspired by Dante’s Inferno. Trying to decipher the mystery, Langdon comes to know of a potential plague threat by the genius scientist Zobrist who believes that the human species will come to an end in 100 years due to the ever-increasing population. Zobrist believes that the only solution to this problem is if the human population is reduced to its one-third by some drastic measures. After WHO refuses to listen to him, Zobrist has decided to take the matters into his own hands. The search for this potential biochemical threat takes Langdon to different parts of Florence, Venice and Istanbul.


The decisions of our past are the architects of our present.

— Dan Brown, Inferno

My Review

I am a big fan of Dan Brown's works and had pre-ordered the book. But the sheer size of the book prevented me from reading it for two years. I finally read it just before the film was about to come out as I prefer to read the book before seeing its film adaptation.

The novel is very interesting. The gripping tale keeps the readers glued to the book till the end. The book is well-written and descriptive. It's a very well-researched novel with some thought-provoking questions. The book teaches much about art, history, geography and culture as well as confronting one of the most crucial issues facing our planet today...overpopulation. The story churns out surprise after surprise and you're kept guessing who the real culprit is.

Dan Brown knows how to skillfully incorporate art, literature, and history into an exciting and thrilling story of suspense and danger. It is a fast paced, compelling book but the end is a little frustrating. I wish the end was a little different!

My Rating: 4/5

Your favorite book in the Robert Langdon series is:

See results
Tom Hanks & Felicity Jones in 'Inferno'
Tom Hanks & Felicity Jones in 'Inferno'
Inferno
Inferno

Film based on Dan Brown's Inferno starring Tom Hanks as Robert Langon.

 

Inferno (Film)

Inferno is a 2016 American film directed by Ron Howard and written by David Koepp, based on the novel of the same name by Dan Brown. Tom Hanks reprised his role as Robert Langdon in the film. The film aslo stars Felicity Jones, Omar Sy, Sidse Babett Knudsen, Ben Foster, and Irrfan Khan. The film's end deviates significantly from the one in the book.

The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their silence at times of crisis.

— Dan Brown, Inferno
Dan Brown
Dan Brown

About The Author

Dan Brown is a reputed American author who is famous for his novels, most notably the Robert Langdon series which includes Angels & Demons, The Da Vinci Code,The Lost Symbol, Inferno and Origin . He is well-known for the recurring themes of cryptography, keys, symbols, codes, art, and conspiracy theories in his novels. Three of his novels have been adapted into films. His other books include Digital Fortress and Deception Point.

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      3 months ago from India

      @Jean Inferno is my least favorite of all Dan Brown books. The main reason for it is the way it ends.

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      3 months ago from New Jersey

      I am a fan too! I have this book on my Kindle, but always find another to read first. I will do it now, after reading your great review!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 months ago from India

      @Dana I too prefer to read the book first. Movies hardly do justice to the book. And in this case, they have totally changed the ending.

    • Dana Tate profile image

      Dana Tate 

      6 months ago from LOS ANGELES

      Although The Da Vinci code is not new I have never seen it. The Inferno seems interesting. I always prefer to read the book prior to seeing the movie. The movie rarely measures up. Nice review

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 months ago from India

      @Manatita This book deals with symbolism based on Dante's Divine Comedy whose first part is Inferno. Hence, the book is titled Inferno.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      6 months ago from london

      Born to write, I'd say. I know of his books and the movie. Inferno sèems to be a popular topic or theme. Nice work!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 months ago from India

      I have read all of Dan Brown's books. Inferno is my least favorite of all because i didn't like its end. Howerver, I still liked the book for all the art, history and other details of Itlay and Turkey. Many people think that he's too much into details and find that boring. But I find this to be the USP of his writing.

    • Senoritaa profile image

      Rinita Sen 

      6 months ago

      I skipped the first paragraph because it contained spoilers and I am yet to read this. I have read till "The lost symbol". I love Dan Brown's style and research, but I thought he was losing his grip on the stories starting The lost symbol. You mentioned that the end was frustrating, well, I felt the same for The lost symbol. Maybe it is time for him to move away from the Langdon thrillers, and delve into other topics.

      Your presentation is very well done. I really liked the structure of this article.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)