Book Review: Not Without My Daughter

Updated on August 11, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

 
 
Title
Not Without My Daughter
Author
Betty Mahmoody
ISBN
0552152161 (ISBN13: 9780552152167)
Genre
Memoir
No. of Pages
420 pages
Publisher
St. Martin’s Press
Publication date
1987
Not Without My Daughter: The Harrowing True Story of a Mother's Courage
Not Without My Daughter: The Harrowing True Story of a Mother's Courage

A true account which chronicles Betty Mahmoody's time in Iran and her subsequent escape along with her daughter.

 

'Not Without My Daughter' is a memoir by Betty Mahmoody detailing her escape along with her young daughter, Mahtob, from Betty's abusive husband in Iran. The book narrates Betty's experiences during 1984-86 when she left Alpena, Michigan, to go to Iran and was subsequently held there against her wish. The book was nominated for Pulitzer Prize. It was adapted into a movie of the same name in 1991 starring Sally Field and Alfred Molina.

You are here for the rest of your life. Do you understand? You are not leaving Iran. You are here until you die.

Summary

‘Not without my daughter’ is an autobiographical account of Betty Mahmoody who fell in love with an Iranian Dr Sayyed Bozorg Mahmoody and got married to him in 1977. All was perfect in their married life and they had a lovely daughter, Mahtob. The trouble started when they went to Iran in 1984 for two-weeks visit. She reluctantly visited Iran along with her husband and daughter for what she was promised would be a short trip. At least, this was what her husband had told her. Mahtob was four years old at the time.The two week long visit turned out to be a fake promise. After the two weeks were over, her husband refused to go back and refused to allow her to return.
During 1984-86, she was held in Iran along with her daughter against her will. Betty became trapped in a country that was hostile to Americans. Her own husband had turned abusive and his family was dead against Betty. Her husband threatened to kill her if she tried to escape. Finally Betty was able to escape from Iran along with her daughter after spending two torturous years there. The book details her 500 mi (800 km) escape to Turkey through the snowy Iranian mountains and the help she received from many Iranians which helped her to escape. After her return to America in 1986, she filed for divorce.

My Review

The book is a touching account of the miserable state of women in Iran. It also depicts the trauma a woman faces for marrying outside her religion and nationality for the sake of love. How religious fanaticism changes her husband from a loving person to an abusive brute! Above all, the book describes the determination of a women to fight against all odds for the sake of her daughter. It’s amazing to see how far a mother can go to protect her daughter. It’s a very compelling and emotional account of a lone woman’s struggles in a foreign land. I was amazed by Betty's perseverence and courage. The book tells an amazing story of resilience and determination which is heart wrenching as well as inspiring. A must read!

My Rating: 4/5

Alfred Molina & Sally Field in "Not Without My Daughter"
Alfred Molina & Sally Field in "Not Without My Daughter"

Not Without My Daughter (Film)

Not Without My Daughter is a 1991 American film which was based on the memoir of the same name by Betty Mahmoody.The main characters Betty Mahmoody and Sayyed Bozorg Mahmoody were played by Sally Field and Alfred Molina respectively. The film was directed by Brian Gilbert. It didn't fare well at the box office and was poorly received.

Betty Mahmoody
Betty Mahmoody

About The Author

Betty Mahmoody is an American author and public speaker. Her claim to fame is her memoir Not Without My Daughter. She has also compiled stories of other parents whose foreign spouses estranged them from their children in the book For the Love of a Child. She has co-founded One World: For Children, an organization which works towards promoting understanding between different cultures and strives to offer security to the children of bi-cultural marriages.

Quiz on Betty Mahmoody

view quiz statistics

Trailer for "Not Without My Daughter"

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      @Manatita Reading is my favorite pastime. And I read all sorts of books though wish I could focus only on spiritual books.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      6 weeks ago from london

      Thanks Shaloo.

      You are branching out, I see. No bad thing. This sort of Memoirs are usually compelling pieces. Hari Om!!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      Thank you Hari! I haven't watched the movie but the book is definitely worth a read.

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      6 weeks ago from Bangalore

      Quite a gritty story. Being stuck against ones will is the worst situation one can be in. Human will to survive is supreme. Will watch the movie if i cannot get the book from a library. :-). Nice review.

      - hari

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      Thank you Dana! Betty's daughter Mahtob has also written a book now with her perspective on the incident. I look forward to reading it.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      @Jackie I find books always better than the film's. I make it a point to read the book first before watching it's movie adaptation.

    • Dana Tate profile image

      Dana Tate 

      6 weeks ago from LOS ANGELES

      I saw the movie and I loved it. it's a lovely memoir on a woman's courage and a mothers love. Excellent review.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      6 weeks ago from The Beautiful South

      I am familiar with this story, maybe the film, am sure I would like it if not.

      Happy 4th!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      @mactavers oh my God! What a traumatic time it must have been for your friend! It's so painful that someone you loved turn out to be an entirely different person.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      Thank you, Bill..Reading is my favorite pastime. I generally write book reviews on my blog. But thought, would post a few here for a change.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      6 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      You read some fascinating books. Thank you again for a wonderful review.

    • mactavers profile image

      mactavers 

      6 weeks ago

      I read this book years ago. It became personal when a friend married her dream man from Egypt. She was an artist and willing agreed to move to Egypt with him a year after their marriage. They didn't have any children, but she became a captive to her husband and his family. It took her two years to get away from them.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)