Book Review: P.S. I Love You

Updated on November 19, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

Introduction

P.S. I love you is a romantic novel written by Cecilia Ahern which was published in 2004. I read it 3-4 years back and immediately fell in love with this love story with a difference. The book has been successfully adapted into a movie starring Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler.

 
 
Title
P.S. I Love You
Author
Cecilia Ahern
Originally Published
2004
Publisher
Gale
Film Adaptation
P.S. I Love You (2007)
Genre
Romance
Page Count
470
Setting
Ireland
PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern (2012-03-01)
PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern (2012-03-01)

A beautiful, heartwarming story of love and loss.

 

Shoot for the moon, even if you fail, you'll land among the stars

— Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

Summary

The book tells the story of Holly and Gerry who are married and live in Dublin. They deeply love each other but also fight occasionally like every other married couple. Tragedy strikes when Gerry suddenly dies due to brain tumor. This devastates Holly and she loses all reason to live. Grief-stricken Holly withdraws from her family & friends and retreats into her shell. One day her mother calls her and informs her about a package which is addressed to her. In the package, Holly finds ten envelopes, one for each month after Gerry died, containing messages from him, all ending with “P.S. I Love You”. The messages are Gerry’s way of telling her how much he loves her and fills Holly with hope & encouragement. She starts looking forward to opening each envelope every month and is filled with anticipation what the next envelope will hold.Each message from Gerry sends Holly on a new adventure and as the months pass, Holly slowly starts recovering from the grief that had engulfed her after Gerry’s sudden death.


Don't be afraid to fall in love again. Open your heart and follow where it leads you...and remember, shoot for the moon.

— Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

My Review

It is a very interesting read and a very emotional one too. Love is the central theme of the book and it is presented in such a unique way. Dealing with the death of your beloved can be devastating but life goes on. You have to keep on living and learn to be happy again for the sake of your family and friends but most importantly, for the sake of your lost love who would never have wanted to see you unhappy.

A beautiful well-written story which will make you cry and also make you appreciate your loved ones. Cecilia Ahern has created some compelling characters. Her writing style is simple and sometimes amateurish but the beauty of the story covers all the flaws. The poignancy of loss, letting go and rediscovery is beautifully captured in the book. It's a touching and emotional story about the long road of healing and finding yourself again after losing a loved one. I will definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves to read chick-lit.

My Rating:4/5

Nobody's life is filled with perfect little moments. And if it were, they wouldn't be perfect little moments. They would just be normal. How would you ever know happiness if you never experience downs?

— Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

About The Author

Cecelia Ahern is an Irish author who is best known for her first novel 'P.S. I Love You'. Two of her books have been adapted into movies and over 25 million of her books have been sold worldwide. She has published several novels and contributed many short stories to various anthologies. She also created and produced the ABC comedy 'Samantha Who?' which starred Christina Applegate.

Cecilia was nominated as the Best Newcomer 2004-05 at the British Book Awards for her debut novel 'PS, I Love You'. She won the 2005 Irish Post Award for Literature and a 2005 Corine Award for her second book 'Where Rainbows End', which was voted for by German readers. Cecelia was voted Author of Year in the UK Glamour Women of the Year Awards in the year 2008.

Remember our wonderful memories, but please don't be afraid to make some more.

— Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

P.S. I Love You (Film)

P.S. I Love You is a 2007 American Romance movie based on the 2004 novel of the same name by Cecilia Ahern. The film starred Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler in the lead roles. There are a few differences between the novel and the film adaptation but on the whole, the film stays fairly true to the novel.

P.S. I Love You Official Trailer #1 - (2007) HD

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      3 months ago from India

      @Imran this is such a cute and positive story of love, loss and hope. I loved it too.

    • Indelible whisper profile image

      Imran khan 

      3 months ago from Mumbai

      I have already read and enjoyed the novel very much. Reading your review makes me want to read it again :)

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      9 months ago from India

      @manatita Romances are quite popular. But I liked the way author has told the story of love and loss.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      9 months ago from london

      Another interesting book. Love seems to be a successful formula in so many ways.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      10 months ago from India

      @FlourishAnyway I am sure you will like the book. I have stopped watching news because there's nothing but negativity.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      10 months ago from India

      @Dora It is indeed a lovely book.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      10 months ago from The Caribbean

      I remember the movie. Thanks for the book review. I'm sure it would be a good read.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      10 months ago from USA

      I'm glad you're reviewing this. With all the bad stuff going on in the news, I need an escape, and it seems like the one on the New York Best Sellers List that are supposedly "unputdownable" are anything but that. I will check this out of the library!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      10 months ago from India

      Thanks Bill...that means a lot!!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      10 months ago from Olympia, WA

      I always appreciate reviews from people I respect, so thank you for this one.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)