Book Review: Sidney Sheldon’s Chasing tomorrow

Updated on July 17, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

 
 
Title
Chasing Tomorrow
Originally published
October 7th, 2014
Author
Tilly Bagshawe
ISBN
006230402X (ISBN13: 9780062304025)
Edition Language
English
Series
Tracy Whitney #2
No. of Pages
400

Introduction

I have always been a huge fan of Sidney Sheldon who is known as the King of Suspense. His novel ‘If tomorrow comes’ is one of my favorites. The heroine of the novel Tracy Whitney, an infamous con artist and jewel thief is one of her most memorable characters.Tracy Whitney surfaces again in ‘Chasing Tomorrow’ which is written by Tilly Bagshawe who was commissioned by Sidney Sheldon’s family to carry on his legacy.

Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow
Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow

Till Bagshawe has written the sequel to Sidney Sheldon's If Tomorrow Comes' bringing back the iconic characters Tracy Whitney and Jeff Stevens once more in 'Chasing Tomorrow'.

 

Summary

Tracy Whitney and her partner Jeff Stevens decide to leave their criminal past behind and start afresh after getting married. But their blissful life doesn’t last long because of a seductress who leads to misunderstanding between the couple. Believing that Jeff cheated on her, heartbroken Tracy left him without even telling him that she is pregnant. She disappears without a trace and started a life in a remote area where she gives birth to her son, Nicholas. She is living a peaceful life with her son at her ranch which is managed by Blake Carter who has become a dear friend and a sort of father figure to Nicholas.

But her past catches up when a French detective comes knocking at her door thinking he can prove the connection between Tracy’s most notorious crimes and a serial killer with a penchant for prostitutes and Bible. Thus Tracy is forced out of hiding. And soon she has to confront her past…the love of her life, Jeff Stevens. She manages to save Jeff’s life who was left to die by being crucified on the cross by the psychotic killer. Who is this killer? Why does he want Jeff dead? Will Jeff and Tracy reunite? Read the novel for all these answers.

Jeff Stevens had seen her in countless guises over the years –Tracy’s was a fluid, changeable beauty, which accounted for part of her success as a con artist –but he had never seen her look more lovely than she did today. Tracy’s mother used to tell her that she had ‘all the colours of the wind’ in her. Jeff Stevens understood exactly what Doris Whitney had meant.

— Tilly Bagshawe, Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow

My Review

'If Tomorrow Comes' is one of my favorite books. Sidney Sheldon has created the most memorable con artists in Jeff Stevens and Tracy Whitney. Jeff and Tracy are the main reasons that any Sidney Sheldon fan would read this book. But I feel that justice hasn't been done to these characters. It kind of ruined the Tracy and Jeff we fell in love with.

Tilly Bagshawe has done a satisfactory job in maintaining the pace of the story and keeping the interest of the readers alive. She has tried to write in the same vein as Sidney Sheldon but readers must not keep their hopes too high as she fails to recreate the Sheldon magic. The book is worth a read but the end was disappointing and forced. There was no reason why Tracy and Jeff should not be together. It seemed as if the author is already preparing a ground for another sequel.

Tilly Bagshawe has tried to capture the essence of the Sidney Sheldon's novels by coming up with seemingly impossible heist pull offs, the chemistry between characters and everything else. The only flaw in my opinion remains to be the fact that the story is a tad bit predictable unlike Sidney Sheldon who used to keep you on your toes till the end.Still, one can read the book to unwind on a boring weekend!

My Rating: 3/5

About The Author

Matilda Emily Bagshawe is a British freelance journalist and author. She is best known for her books who writes under the pen name Tilly Bagshawe. She has written many novels but came into limelight by writing Sidney Sheldon Series of novels, notably Sidney Sheldon's Mistress of the Game,Sidney Sheldon's After the Darkness, Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark, Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory, Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow and Sidney Sheldon's Reckless.

Usually, when people get to the end of a chapter, they close the book and go to sleep. I deliberately write a book so when the reader gets to the end of the chapter, he or she must turn one more page.

— Sidney Sheldon, the late American author who has over 300 million books in print.

Which is your favourite Sidney Sheldon book?

See results

The Legacy of Sidney Sheldon

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      3 weeks ago from India

      Thanks Dora!

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      3 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      You have surely created some interesting hooks to pull us into reading the book. Good job, and I like the plot.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      Thank you Dana! The other side of midnight and it's sequel both are quite interesting.

    • Dana Tate profile image

      Dana Tate 

      4 weeks ago from LOS ANGELES

      Your reviews are so thorough, I would read anything you recommend. The Other Side of Midnight" is my favorite. Excellent review.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      @Eric Flattered to know that you find my book reviews worth reading

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      Thank you Bill for the trust

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      @Mary I have read all the books in the Sheldon series by Tilly Bagshawe except the latest. And the only reason is just to get a feel of Sidney Sheldon.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 

      4 weeks ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      Hard to pick from above. But that one title resonated. Thanks for a great review. (I do not read reviews, except yours)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      4 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      I appreciate book reviews from people I know and trust, so thank you for this one.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      4 weeks ago from Ontario, Canada

      I used to read Sidney Sheldon but have not read nay of Bagshawe's books. Maybe, I'll put her on my list.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)