Updated date:

7 Enthralling Books Like "Harry Potter" Everyone Should Read

The mind needs books like a sword needs a whetstone. Tyrion knows it, and so does every book lover. Let's find you some great books!

This guide will list seven different series or books that lovers of "Harry Potter" might also like.

This guide will list seven different series or books that lovers of "Harry Potter" might also like.

What Books Are Like "Harry Potter"?

With more than 130 million copies sold all across the world, covering readers of all ages, Harry Potter has become one of the greatest publishing successes the world has ever seen.

The author, J.K Rowling, who was then a broke and single mother, kept writing in the Edinburgh coffee shop about a wizard boy who was skinny with remarkable green eyes. Little did we know that she will astonish the world with her fantasy land.

If you loved it, here are some more books like the Harry Potter series, for this genre never goes out of style.

Books Similar to the "Harry Potter" Series

  1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians
  2. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
  3. The Northern Lights
  4. The Lord of the Rings
  5. Inkheart
  6. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  7. Bridge to Terabithia
books-like-harry-potter-

1. "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" by Rick Riordan

Every element of nature has its own distinctive powerful guardian, but when gods tend to fall in love with mortal women like Hercules, the entire story falls into an enchanting realm governed by Gods.

Inspired by his son who was suffering from dyslexia and is a follower of Greek Mythology, Rick Riordan has presented us with five sets of fantasy novels of the Camp Half-Blood Chronicles. Set in modern-day America, the story revolves around Percy Jackson, a boy in middle school who has a strange affection towards the water.

His friends are astonished that he can stay underwater more than any normal human being. We learn later on that that he is the son of Poseidon, the sea god who has been accused of stealing the thunderbolt of Zeus.

Surrounded by extreme dangers, which can further lead to a war between the mortals and the immortals, he is taken to a half-blood camp where many demigods train him for what's coming next. Percy along with his two friends brace themselves for an unforgettable adventure.

There are times when Percy and the reader both become one as they learn and discover their new world together. With every new installment of the book, new characters are introduced who are in some way related to the Greek gods. All the adventures of the books are related to the fallen king, Kronos, who tries to gain his position once more with an army of dangerous forces.

The story deals with friendship, faith, identity wars, and the courage to face every new challenge. If this grandeur series has somehow slipped under your radar, now is the time to get into it.

books-like-harry-potter-

2. "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" by Ransom Riggs

Written by Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children revolves around Jacob, a young boy who finds no comfort in his rich heritage. His mundane life suddenly takes a turn when his grandfather calls for him, but his grandfather dies by the time Jacob reaches his place.

Before dying, he orders his grandson to find a bird by a grave. Things become a little messy after that as Jacob experiences harrowing nightmares. When his parents take him to a new place, he finds more comfort than he ever did at his house. The old abandoned house his grandfather had once mentioned turns out to be nothing more than a dusty haunted house.

He discovers new friends, but they are not normal like others, as all of them have some kind of supernatural powers. Their headmistress, Miss Peregrine, is the most peculiar of the bunch, wielding the power to transform herself into a bird.

The first glimpse of the cover picture of the book gives us a creepy and haunting feeling, but there is much more to it than that. A new adventure awaits you. If you're looking for some books like the Harry Potter series, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children should be right up your alley.

books-like-harry-potter-

3. "The Northern Lights" by Philip Pullman

Authored by Philip Pullman, The Northern Lights, also known as The Golden Compass, is one of the most well-read adult fantasy novels of the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The plot takes place in a parallel universe where humans and animals share a strange bond. Every animal is a representative of the person’s alter ego. They can speak, suggest, and almost work as faithfully as the pumping heart of a being.

The entire story revolves around Lyra, an orphan girl, who wishes to go to the Northern Lights, a capricious place teeming with danger. So her uncle gifts her an Alethiometer before she leaves—a compass-like object with magical potentials.

Since Lyra is a little girl who has to fight for her life, she is assisted by Lorek Byrnison, a huge polar bear. These bears share superhuman intelligence and are the greatest warriors. Will she get there? What awaits her there? Read the book to find out.

The book has also undergone a lot of protests, resulting in it getting banned from school libraries and children’s bookstores, as it is said to be against Christian beliefs. The author, being an atheist, claims that he has not objected to the Christian doctrine as much as the absence of Christian virtues.

books-like-harry-potter-

4. "The Lord of the Rings" by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings is one of the most highly celebrated fantasy novels, taking us away to the enchanting land of wizards, elves, dwarfs, with no promise of a return to reality. Written by English author and scholar, J.R.R Tolkien, the book has been divided into three volumes, known as The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King respectively. Although the setting of the novel is highly fictional, the morals related to it are human. The story of the three books is so preoccupying that the reader fails to leave any chapter behind. The novel contains a huge number of characters, with each of them meticulously described.

The story centers around a golden ring with power that can bring back the fallen kingdom of the dark lord, Sauron. Frodo Baggins, a hobbit who is unaware of the importance of the ring, inherits it from his uncle. He gets to know about the brutal history of the ring from Gandalf, a powerful wizard, who is the moving force behind every important part of the story.

The book follows the adventures of Frodo who is destined to destroy the ring. He is accompanied by brave warriors who have distinctive roles in the preceding novels. The author has created a beautiful scenario by creating a geography of his own. The expedition leads them across the Middle Earth, with the fire burning hellish castles and beautiful misty mountains. The destruction of the ring and the restoration of moral righteousness is the ultimate aim.

Other than this series, Tolkien also authored the Hobbit trilogy, a prequel of the Lord of the Rings series. This plot is about Bilbo Baggins, Frodo’s uncle, who was the actual receiver of the ring. Bilbo’s journey takes him to the treasure-guarding dragon and ruined territories of a fallen dwarf kingdom. There's much more to Frodo's journey that what I've just described. If you like The Lord of the Rings series, maybe give Hobbit a shot.

books-like-harry-potter-

5. "Inkheart" by Cornelia Funke

Authored by Cornelia Funke, Inkheart is the first book of the trilogy. This young adult fantasy book contains 534 pages, the shortest of the series. This book revolves around Meggie, a 12-year-old girl, and Moe, her father.

Always traveling from one place to another for jobs, Moe wishes to spice things up in life. His wish soon is granted when a mysterious man arrives at their place. He is none other than one of the characters Moe had recently read about in a book. It seems as if Moe has the power to bring characters to life by just reading the book aloud.

These characters of fantasy books are astonished to find themselves in a strange world, not realizing that they have become living creatures thanks to Moe. Not all of the characters, however, are harmless. This father-daughter duo is about to get into a lot of trouble for their misadventures. Give the book a read to find out more about them.

Those looking for books like the Harry Potter series will love what Inkheart brings to the table.

books-like-harry-potter-

6. "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe" by C.S. Lewis

Authored by C.S. Lewis, The Chronicles of Narnia is a children’s fantasy novel series. Published in 47 different languages with more than 100 million copies sold so far, the Narnia series has cemented its place as one of the most popular of all time.

Since the book's idea had entertained the poet’s mind at the time of the tragic world war, you'll find quite a few references to the same. The tale begins in London, only to end up in magical land we all know by now: Narnia.

The story starts with a simple game of hide and seek. When one of the kids goes to hide in a wardrobe. she finds the doorway to the magical land of Narnia. Once a beautiful kingdom, Narnia is going through a rough time, thanks to a ruthless invasion. The mission is to re-establish peace by defeating the white witch. How exactly will they go about it? Read the novel to find out more.

books-like-harry-potter-

7. "Bridge to Terabithia" by Katherine Paterson

Published in 1977, Bridge to Terabithia is a story about how a belief system can actually create a world of one’s own. It's said that the author, Katherine Paterson, was inspired by a real-life incident to pen this novel.

The story revolves around Jess Aarons, a farmer’s son, living in a rundown countryside. This creative 10-year-old has to take care of his family from a young age, wasting away his potential. Often teased and bullied in school, he takes pleasure in singing and drawing to distract himself. Things turn around when Leslie Burke, a new girl in his school, befriends Jess.

She encourages Jess to hone in on his drawings and artistic creativity. Together they explore the woods and try to create something spectacular out of their imagination. It doesn't take long before they become inseparable. Read the novel to find out more about their fascinating adventures.

Bridge to Terabithia has an underlying message about how children’s talents and interests should be liberated. It also questions the imposition of Christian beliefs on children, leading to a lot of controversies. Recognized as one of the 100 best children’s novels in the world, this adventure is full of fantasy, fun, exploration, sadness, and love.

Did I miss out on any other books like Harry Potter? Let me know in the comments section.

Comments

Rose McCoy from West Virginia on July 27, 2020:

Awesome article! Other potential candidates for a Part 2 could include the “Dorothy Must Die” and “Cinder” series, too :)

Ivana Divac from Serbia on July 21, 2020:

This is such a great article. I love all the books you mentioned!

Related Articles