A Book Review - "Fieldwork" by Mischa Berlinski

Updated on February 23, 2017
donnah75 profile image

I am a high school English teacher who is passionate about writing, theater, directing and enjoying a positive life with family and friends.

Source

For the past few years, I have organized the used book sale at our annual faculty association scholarship fundraiser. One of the perks of organizing that sale is that I always find several books that look interesting, and they usually end up on my “to read” pile. One of those novels was Mischa Berlinski’s novel Fieldwork. A National Book Award finalist, this novel was praised by Stephen King in The New York Times as “a remarkable novel.” Fieldwork is the story of a journalist who goes to work in Thailand and ends up investigating the story of a murdered missionary by an anthropologist. The story unfolds to reveal many interesting layers and will keep you reading until the wee hours, as it is hard to put down.

The Story

Mischa Berlinski, a journalist, goes to Thailand to live and work when his girlfriend takes on a teaching job there. He hears the story of an American anthropologist, Martiya van der Leun, who was imprisoned for murdering a religious missionary. Martiya committed suicide in that Thai prison, leaving many questions unanswered. As the novel progresses, Berlinski tells the story of Martiya’s journey in Thailand as an anthropologist studying the fictitious Dyalo people. He weaves in the story of the Walker family, a colorful group of religious missionaries and family of the murdered David Walker. As the story progresses, the pieces of the mystery are revealed to explain how passions can collide and end in tragedy.

Source

The Characters

Much of the novel focuses on the story of Martiya, an American anthropologist studying the Dyalo people. Readers know from the start that she has murdered the missionary David Walker and that she has committed suicide in a Thai prison. As the pages are turned, the reader learns of her work and how she came to spend so many years with the Dyalo. Martiya is a captivating woman who is passionate about her work. Nothing about her character explains how she became a murderer, which led me to ask many questions as I read. Why did she murder David Walker? Were they lovers or enemies? Did they even know each other? Did she really do it? My questions changed as I kept reading, and I began to feel for this character who had presumably committed such a heinous crime.

Like so many great story tellers, Berlinski weaves many layers into this novel. In addition to Martiya’s story, the reader learns about the Walker family. The characters that make up this family of missionaries are extremely well written and developed. The reader gets a glimpse into the inner workings of this family that is so passionate about their beliefs that they have spent generations in Asia working to convert the Dyalo people to Christianity. The members of this family are sometimes delightful and quirky and display complex relationships that they don’t wish to reveal to outsiders like the narrator. As the story progressed, I began to wonder if the family members really believed what they preached or if they had just been preaching for so long that they were entrenched. I wondered how the death of David Walker affected their faith and their commitment to their work. I wondered if they knew Martiya and what her relationship with the family was. They never wished to discuss Martiya or David, and it made me question their honesty and if they were complicit in the murder.

Overall, Berlinski does a brilliant job of creating deep, interesting characters that draw in the reader. I wondered and speculated with each turn of the page. In the end, I was satisfied with an ending that was not predictable.

Theme

A prevalent theme in the novel deals with the clash between science and religion. Martiya represents the scientific side. She observes and notes the details of the Dyalo culture. The Walker family represents the religious side. They believe they have an essential mission to bring the word of God to this group of indigenous people. For much of the novel, the two story lines exist separate from one another, leaving the reader to wonder when and how they will finally clash. There is an exploration of the spirituality of the Dyalo people and how it guides their lives. Berlinski shows how the conversion to Christianity affects these characters, further developing his main theme.

Truth or Tale?

Mischa Berlinski does an amazing job of creating a piece of realistic fiction with this novel. On the biography page at the front of the book, it shows that he has indeed spent time in Thailand. He names the narrator after himself, sometimes making the reader consider whether the work is real or just a fictitious story. He creates the Dyalo people, an indigenous people who are studied by anthropologist Martiya van der Leun. The author’s extensive research shows in the details of the Thai landscape and the rituals of the tribe. He gives the reader a glimpse into what life would be like out in the field for an anthropologist. He unveils the inner workings of a multi-generational missionary family who are passionate about their beliefs. As a reader, I had moments where I wanted to believe that these characters were real, but in the end the author reminds the reader that “the Dyalo do not exist, except in these pages. None of this stuff happened to anyone.”

Have you read Fieldwork?

See results

Final Thoughts

For a reader who loves Shakespeare and Maya Angelou, Fieldwork seemed to be a departure from my normal reading habits. I picked it up because it looked interesting and different. I was drawn in by the mystery behind the concept of a scientist murdering a missionary. I was hooked by the author’s skillful writing and layered story lines. I enjoyed the read to the very last page because the characters were believable, deep, passionate and human. If you are looking for a novel that tells a unique, gripping story, pick up Fieldwork by Mischa Berlinski. I wholeheartedly recommend it, and I know you will not be disappointed.

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Donna Hilbrandt

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        vespawoolf: I hope you enjoy it!

      • vespawoolf profile image

        vespawoolf 

        6 years ago from Peru, South America

        This sounds like a great novel! I'm going to look into getting it for my Kindle today. Thanks for a thorough and well-written review!

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        Thanks Gypsy Rose Lee! Thanks for passing it on.

      • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

        Gypsy Rose Lee 

        6 years ago from Riga, Latvia

        Thanks for sharing . Great review. The book sounds fascinating. Passing this on.

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        Kashmir56 & GiblinGirl: Thank you.

      • GiblinGirl profile image

        GiblinGirl 

        6 years ago from New Jersey

        Great review. Thanks for sharing - I'm always looking for a good read.

      • kashmir56 profile image

        Thomas Silvia 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        From your great review sounds like a very interesting book !

        Well done and vote up !!!

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        Thanks jcevans! I hope you enjoy it. I appreciate the vote and share.

      • jcevans2009 profile image

        Judith C Evans 

        6 years ago from Boise, ID

        Oh, I will definitely add this novel to my "to-read" list! I love to get lost in a novel that has many layers. The theme of the clash between science and religion should make this an interesting read. Voted up and interesting...sharing, too!

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        Thanks, Bill!

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        6 years ago from Olympia, WA

        Well, I respect your opinion, so next time I'm book shopping I'll check this out. Thanks for the info!

      • donnah75 profile imageAUTHOR

        Donna Hilbrandt 

        6 years ago from Upstate New York

        Thank you, bridalletter. I too love a book that can't be put down. Sitting all day with a great book and a cup of tea is one of my great pleasures in life.

      • bridalletter profile image

        Brenda Kyle 

        6 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

        Very thorough review. I get on kicks of reading. For me I have to have a book like that; one you can read all the way through as quick as possible. Otherwise I never finish them. It sounds very fascinating and reminds me of an older movie that must have a similar theme.

        I enjoy book reviews. Thank you.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)