The First Phone Call From Heaven Book Review

Updated on January 8, 2019

About the book

Author: Mitch Albom

Published: 2003

Publisher: Harper Collins

Pages: 398


Synopsis

The story is set in a small town called Coldwater, Michigan. When some of the inhabitants of Coldwater start receiving phone calls from their loved ones, it interests a lot of people. The reason why people's interest is piqued is because these people making the phone calls have passed away and, apparently, calling from Heaven. Tess Rafferty is the first person in the book whom we meet that receives a so-called phone call from Heaven. Katherine Yellin is also one of the main people to have received a call. She publicly announces that she had received a call from her dead sister, Diane. She stands up in Church one Sunday and announces to the congregation that Diane had called her from Heaven. Naturally, people are stunned and shocked at the news. But other people soon start coming forward saying they have also been receiving calls from their dead relatives. The news soon spread and quickly attracts media attention. Oddly though, these people only seem to receive these calls on a Friday.

Sully Harding is another one of the main characters in the book and is sceptical about what is going on. He is going through the grieving process himself as his wife tragically died in a horrific car accident. This leaves him to deal with the loss himself and also bringing up his young son, who also mourns the loss of his mother. And Sully has other problems as he was disgraced from his job as a pilot and served time in prison. He doesn't believe that these calls are coming from Heaven and sets out to find out what is really going on. Are these phone calls a cruel hoax, or are they really miracles from Heaven?

Whilst all this is going on, the world and his wife has caught on to this story and Coldwater is soon overrun with not only the media, but also from people who believe this is happening. There are groups of people who gather on Katherine's front lawn praying. There are also the disbelievers who claim that this is all a load of rubbish.

There are two stories for every life; the one you live and the one others tell.

— Mitch Albom

My Thoughts

I have read 3 of Mitch Albom's books previously, so was looking forward to this one. I've enjoyed reading his books, and this one didn't disappoint me. I have found with Mitch's books that they are written in such a way that they make you think about things. It's food for thought. What if we could receive phone calls from our loved ones in Heaven? What would we do? How would we react if this actually happened?

There are segments in the book where Mitch talks about the birth of the telephone and the first phone call ever made. I found this little bit of information an interesting addition to the book. Communication has certainly come a long way since those days. But when it comes to communicating with people in another dimension, that is another question. As I said, it raises a lot of questions and makes you think about life and death. On a personal basis, I don't like to think of there being nothing after we pass on from this life. The thought of going to Heaven when I die is something I would like. But none of us are really going to know until it happens. But what I liked about this book is the way Mitch wrote about the characters. These people are all very different. One man is a Police Officer that apparently receives calls from his son, a soldier, who was killed in action. These are just normal, every day people who get these phone calls.

I found the story enjoyable and engaging to read. Again, Mitch Albom didn't let me down and I would thoroughly recommend this book. I kept wanting to turn the page to see what happens next. I didn't expect the book to end the way it did though. Saying that though, I wasn't disappointed. I would highly recommend this book and give it 5/5.

Source

The First Phone Call From Heaven

Questions & Answers

    © 2019 Louise Powles

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

        Louise Powles 

        3 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

        Shaloo, thankyou for the lovely comment. I do like his books.

      • swalia profile image

        Shaloo Walia 

        3 weeks ago from India

        I have read two of Mitch Albom's books and quite liked them. This one seems pretty interesting too. Added on my tbr list.

      • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

        Louise Powles 

        7 months ago from Norfolk, England

        Peg - thankyou for the lovely comment. Yes, I love his other books as well. He's a really talented author. =)

      • PegCole17 profile image

        Peg Cole 

        7 months ago from Northeast of Dallas, Texas

        Great to find your review of Mitch Albom's book. Makes me want to read this one. His stories truly are gripping in their exploration of different possibilities. Loved his other books as well.

      • Hayley Dodwell profile image

        Hayley Dodwell 

        10 months ago from United Kingdom

        Fantastic review, very interesting indeed - I now intend to get a copy! Thank you.

      • rajan jolly profile image

        Rajan Singh Jolly 

        10 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

        Thanks for this review, Louise. This is an interesting topic to write about and I would certainly be a little apprehensive initially if it happened. Seems like a book I should read. Thank you.

      • MsDora profile image

        Dora Weithers 

        10 months ago from The Caribbean

        Louise, thanks for this review. On your recommendation, I intend to get the book. I love Mitch Albom's writings.

      • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

        Louise Powles 

        10 months ago from Norfolk, England

        Hi Leland, thanks for the lovely comment. Yes, he wrote Tuesdays With Morrie, that is a lovely story too. I believe Mitch Albom is from Detroit. I really admire his work.

      • Leland Johnson profile image

        Leland Johnson 

        10 months ago from Midland MI

        Louise- well written hub. Albom wrote Tuesdays with Morrie, right? He's a sensitive guy for sure and a good writer. Interesting topic, especially for me being from Michigan. Is Albom from Michigan? I like the quote you included about "two lives." Than one will keep me up pondering for a while tonight. Thanks a lot. haha. Great review. Looking forward to more.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        10 months ago from USA

        I enjoyed your review. I’ve been looking for a good book to read recently and it looks like this will be on my list. I read Mitch Albom’s first book and liked it, but I haven’t read any follow-up books he’s writing.

      • Ellison Hartley profile image

        Ellison Hartley 

        10 months ago from Maryland, USA

        Great book review! I love reading book reviews. Just from seeing the title, I don't know if I would have picked it up and read it, but after your explanation, it sounds really interesting and thought-provoking.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
      ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)