The Journey Home: Book Review

Updated on July 2, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

Introduction

The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami is an autobiographical account by Radhanath Swami, a renowned Spiritual leader and a prominent figure at ISKCON (International Society for Krishna Consciousness). I must say that this is undoubtedly one of the best books I have read till date. The book is an interesting tale of adventures and pearls of wisdom that Radhanath Swami procured on this adventurous journey.

Radhanath Swami was initially unwilling to share his story but finally agreed after the request of his friend Bhakti Tirtha Swami who was on deathbed. His memoir 'The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami' is the story of his growing up years in a Jewish family in Chicago, Illinois and subsequent journey to India while hitch-hiking through Europe and Middle East. He met many people along the way who shared their wisdom with him. His stay with the yogis in the Himalayas, in monasteries, synagogues and churches acquainted him with the teachings of different faiths.The book chronicles his spiritual quest and how he finally found the Bhakti Yoga Path.


The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami
The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami

An inspirational memoir by Radhanath Swami describing his spiritual quest which brought him to India.

 

God, who is absolute, reveals himself to different people in different ways [..] I realized it would be very narrow to think there was only one way to God.

— Radhanath Swami, The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami

Summary

Richard Slavin is a young boy of nineteen years from the suburbs of Chicago who is influenced by the Beatles and the hippie culture. He along with his friend decide to go to Europe tour before starting college. During the journey, one day while meditating Richard heard his calling…India. He sets off on an incredible journey to India having all sorts of experiences on the way. Once in India, he meets many mystic yogis, gurus, spiritual teachers before he finally found his path- the Bhakti Yoga.

During his search for his life’s purpose, Radhanath Swami met and learnt from various spiritual leaders like Mother Teresa, Swami Rama, Baba Ram Dass and his spiritual master Srila Prabhupada, the founder of ISKCON. He has near-death encounters during his journey as well as beautiful and unbelievable experiences of self-realization and miracles of God’s grace.

The book starts with a rather humorous and yet beautiful account of Radhanath Swami’s visit to the famous Pashupatinath Temple in Nepal. He was denied entry but he managed to enter and have ‘darshan’ by pretending to be ‘mauni baba' (a yogi in silence). The book ends with Radhanath Swami realizing in Vrindavan that Bhakti Marga is the path for him and Srila Prabhupada is the one whom he will accept as his spiritual master.


Quiz on Radhanath Swami

view quiz statistics

Where there is faith, fear cannot exist.

— Radhanath Swami, The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami

My Review

I recommend this book to all the sincere seekers in search of truth. It's a truly inspiring and amazing story of Radhanath Swami as he explores different spiritual traditions in order to seek the higher truth. The writing style is simple interspersed with humor and profound wisdom. The book is replete with great adventurous and thrilling real-life events that took place in Radhanath Swami's life during his spiritual quest. Each incident taught him some wonderful insights. Precious gems of wisdom are interwoven in this exciting journey of exemplary resilience. The book is inspirational and will be of great interest to anyone looking for answers in life. Intricate pearls of wisdom, philosophies from various religions interspersed with witty incidents make this a memoir worth reading. This is one of those rare books which will change your life for the better. So entertaining and elevating!

My Rating: 4.5/5

Mother Ganges teaches us that if we want to attain the sea of our aspiration, we must persevere in our goal and never be discouraged by the inevitable obstacles that come on our path.

— Radhanath Swami, The Journey Home: Autobiography of an American Swami

About The Author

Radhanath Swami is a a spiritual teacher and an acclaimed author. He has been a Bhakti Yoga practitioner for more than 40 years and serves as a member of the Governing Body Commission of ISKCON (International Society for Krishna Consciousness).

What is your favorite book genre?

See results

The Journey Within

The Journey Within: Exploring the Path of Bhakti is a sequel to The Journey Home and was launched in May 2016. It became the New York Times Bestseller in July 2016 under 'Religion, Spirituality and Faith' category.

His Holiness Radhanath Maharaj

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      You're welcome, Manatita

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      6 weeks ago from london

      Thanks Shaloo.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      6 weeks ago from India

      @Manatita Bhagwad Gita as it is by Srila Prabhupada is simply amazing. Thanks for pointing out about the poll. I will edit it to include spiritual category. I still write about Krishna and spirituality but not on HP. May be you can have a look at my blog shaloowalia.com whenever you have time

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      6 weeks ago from london

      An interesting man and seemingly a noble soul.

      The first book I read in 1982 was Autobiography of a Western Yogi. The second was The Bhagavad Gita by Srila Prabupada.

      I met a Bhakta in Kenya last week. He has been with ISKON for over 40 years!

      The devotional way is a supreme way. It was the way of Sri Krshna, Papa Ramdas, Ramakrishna, Christ and my teacher.

      Any meaningful spiritual book is worth reading but I do not see this genre in your poll.

      I see you returning to spiritual articles. It is a loving way ... the most loving way, perhaps, of seva or service to mankind. Om Shanti!!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      7 weeks ago from India

      @Louise Definitely worth a read!

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 

      7 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      This sounds like an interesting book - 1 to put on my list, thankyou.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      7 weeks ago from India

      @Bill I am sure you will like it.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      7 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      This sounds like a fascinating book. Thank you for the review. I will look for it.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      7 weeks ago from India

      Yes, Dora...It's an incredible story of hope, faith and devotion.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      7 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Among the writing genres you listed, autobiographies are my favorite. Thanks for your review on the Journey Home. Swami's story offers hope in the pursuit of purpose.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)