Updated date:

The Importance of Literature Review in Research Writing

A Ph. D. in English, Dr. Kim teaches at Murray State College. A bug rancher, he also keeps honeybees.

Doing a careful and thorough literature review is essential when you write about research at any level. It is basic homework that is assumed to have been done vigilantly, and a given fact in all research papers. By providing one, usually offered in your introduction before you reach your thesis statement, you are telling your reader that you have not neglected the basics of research.

It not only surveys what research has been done in the past on your topic, but it also appraises, encapsulates, compares and contrasts, and correlates various scholarly books, research articles, and other relevant sources that are directly related to your current research. Given the fundamental nature of providing one, your research paper will be not considered seriously if it is lacking one at the beginning of your paper.

1. It Creates a Rapport with Your Audience

A literature review helps you create a sense of rapport with your audience or readers so they can trust that you have done your homework. As a result, they can give you credit for your due diligence: you have done your fact-finding and fact-checking mission, one of the initial steps of any research writing.

As a student, you may not be an expert in a given field; however, by listing a thorough review in your research paper, you are telling the audience, in essence, that you know what you are talking about. As a result, the more books, articles, and other sources you can list in the literature review, the more trustworthy your scholarship and expertise will be. Depending on the nature of your research paper, each entry can be long or short. For example, if you are writing a doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis, the entries can be longer than the ones in a term paper. The key is to stick to the gist of the sources as you synthesize the source in the review: its thesis, research methods, findings, issues, and further discussions mentioned in the source.

2. It Helps You Avoid Incidental Plagiarism

Imagine this scenario. You have written a research paper, an original paper in your area of specialization, without a literature review. When you are about to publish the paper, you soon learn that someone has already published a paper on a topic very similar to yours. Of course, you have not plagiarized anything from that publication; however, if and when you publish your work, people will be suspicious of your authenticity. They will ask further about the significance of repeating similar research. In short, you could have utilized the time, money, and other resources you have wasted on your research on something else. Had you prepared a literature review at the onset of your research, you could have easily avoided such mishap. During the compilation of your review, you could have noticed how someone else has done similar research on your topic. By knowing this fact, you can tailor or tweak your own research in such a way that it is not a mere rehashing of someone else’s original or old idea.

3. It Sharpens Your Research Focus

As you assemble outside sources, you will condense, evaluate, synthesize, and paraphrase the gist of outside sources in your own words. Through this process of winnowing, you will be able to place the relevance of your research in the larger context of what others researchers have already done on your topic in the past (See Reference 1).

The literature review will help you compare and contrast what you are doing in the historical context of the research as well as how your research is different or original from what others have done, helping you rationalize why you need to do this particular research (See Reference 2).

Perhaps you are using a new or different research method which has not been available before, allowing you to collect the data more accurately or conduct an experiment that is more precise and exact thanks to many innovations of modern technology. Thus, it is essential in helping you shape and guide your research in the direction you may not have thought of by offering insights and different perspectives on the research topic.

Many Different Types

Depending on your area of specialization, a literature review can take various forms: argumentative review, integrative review, historical review, methodological review, systematic review, and theoretical review (See Reference 1).

  • An argumentative review is written to present an opposing view to a given position. This will be valuable to persuade others to join you in supporting your thesis.
  • An integrative review is composed of examinations and critical analysis on a given topic to introduce a need for a new research. For example, you can use it on the spreading of a pandemic plague, arguing how the old methods of gathering and analyzing the data were inadequate and how modern technology, such as DNA analysis, will help make the same research more accurate.
  • Similarly, a historical review will assess all the historical records of scholarship chronologically while methodological review examines the research methods alone—collection of data, their critical analysis, interpretation, and research results, for example.

A literature review in any field is essential as it offers a comprehensive overview and recapitulation on the given scholarship from past to present, giving the reader a sense of focus as to which direction your new research is headed (See Reference 3).

References:

  1. Wesleyan University: Library [http://www.wesleyan.edu/libr/guides/litrev/whatsalitreview.html]
  2. The University of Southern California: USC Libraries [http://libguides.usc.edu/content.php?pid=83009&sid=615851]
  3. The University of North Carolina: The Writing Center [http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/literature-reviews/]

Essential in Any Research

Questions & Answers

Question: How can we use marketing research to make money?

Answer: Without marketing, you can never know what type of business is needed in an area where you want to set up one. Marketing research is designed to give you the necessary data:who, what, when, where, why, and how.

Comments

Alfrednyansio116@gmail.com on July 16, 2020:

i need to fight

mathewsmjr37@gmail.com on February 13, 2020:

So usefull keep it up

Joshua on February 05, 2020:

Nice one

Odongo esau on December 01, 2019:

Well done,keep it up

Ronnie on October 31, 2019:

Thanks for this wonderful assistance

Majesty on October 15, 2019:

Thanks a lot

Muhammed Hussein on May 15, 2019:

I think marketing research is inaccurate because it is profitable?

PRINCE on March 29, 2019:

THANKS

199900 on February 19, 2019:

Thankiee

Chitra Bist on January 26, 2019:

Really useful article and wonderful ideas.

PANKAJ SINGHA on December 10, 2018:

This topic is very helpful. Thanks a lot

wunmi on September 24, 2018:

Good work. Thanks

Google User on September 05, 2018:

Very helpful and educative.

jeremia on September 05, 2018:

thank you very helpful

UMAR Adam Babangida, PG Student in Archaeology, ABU Zaria Nigeria on March 31, 2018:

Thanks to my respected colleagues in academic pedestals; Our able proffessors, scholars and students in search of academic excellence. Its aamazing and encouraging to see how Europe are funding academic research to encourage scholarship and produce the best research that certainly provides solutions to humanity. The situation in Africa is that we find it difficult to pay school fees talk less of concentrate to bring the best out of you. Thanks once more for setting thecpace and this piece in particular for me to put my paper in good shape

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on March 25, 2018:

Thank you very much visitors for your kind and insightful comments. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to email me. My email address is found here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

I look forward to hearing from you.

Dr. Kim

Nyika Emmanuel Delon on March 25, 2018:

Very educative.really helpful in my research

Gabriel Gonyora on March 24, 2018:

Thanks for assisting me with my assignment in literature review at Zimbabwe Open University.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on February 26, 2018:

Thank you for your thoughtful and positive comments and I am glad I was able to help. Please visit my Facebook here, as well, here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

spencer tawanda chikumbirike on February 25, 2018:

attractive section of content,js stumbled on ur website & in accession capital to assert tht I gt,infact enjoyed blog post on research and importance of literature review....kp u the good work ..sando dzako

ibrahim mrisho on February 14, 2018:

nice work it useful.

Boss on December 13, 2017:

Thanks...BiG,it come in our exam

francis wakiente jacob on December 08, 2017:

I find the article very useful and quite interesting. It helps to build my understanding of the importance of literature review in a research work.

Fin from Barstow on November 24, 2017:

yes good points....

gracio dee on October 18, 2017:

thanx a million for this write up i got all i wanted here

Monalisa on October 18, 2017:

very informative much appreciated

Please add more importances.

mabhoko usm on September 08, 2017:

Nice and informative. Thanks

Doosh Gbahabo on September 04, 2017:

I got a material to add to my work here, that is the integrative review. Thanks

Rusheche Takudzwanashe on September 03, 2017:

I find this information very useful in my study,thus all information needed by doctors during operation ,thank u so much and god bless u .

ugochukwu on August 01, 2017:

the text is very awesome

and highly enjoyable

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on July 24, 2017:

Thank you for your thoughtful comments and visit!

Please feel free to visit my Facebook here to cool off your brain or work out your writer's block:

https://www.facebook.com/pg/YSKHoney/posts/?ref=pa...

lyka on July 24, 2017:

very informative. thanks

Sheriff Suleiman on July 05, 2017:

I really benefited from the write up, thank you for doing good job

Ama Felix on June 17, 2017:

very useful keep up

kipkorir koech on June 07, 2017:

well explain

Maidah arbab on June 07, 2017:

It's informative n very helpful..

isaac kipkoech on June 05, 2017:

Helpful information good work.

Taiwo on June 02, 2017:

Nice site

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on May 04, 2017:

Hi, Ruth et al,

Please do visit my bee-rescue website here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

Ruth on May 03, 2017:

This was great. Thank you :).

Dhriti on April 30, 2017:

Its really been helpful. Thank you so much!

Manu Ebenezer-Sociable on April 24, 2017:

that's very good and cute informative

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on April 11, 2017:

Thank you very much for your comment. Please do visit my Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

Gratefully,

Dr. Kim

Saltcreek student on April 11, 2017:

thx so much u saved my life on this essay I have to do!

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on April 03, 2017:

Thank you for your thoughtful comment, law-school@uonbi. Please feel free to visit my Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

law-school@uonbi.ac.ke on April 03, 2017:

very informative

ashirafahmed10@gmail.com on February 22, 2017:

a wide perspective of the study is needed,, things look to be seen on the lower side of their study.

C.Sasikala on January 06, 2017:

Really very impressive and helpful work. Thank you

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on December 14, 2016:

Dear Readers,

First of all, I thank you very much for your insightful positive comments. For those who would like to know more about my background, here is my Interview with the Toronto Quarterly:

http://thetorontoquarterly.blogspot.com/2013/05/yo...

Of course, here is my Facebook should you need to reach me:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

Gratefully,

Yoon Sik Kim, Ph. D.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on December 14, 2016:

Sara et al,

Thank you very much for reading my meager suggestion. Please do visit my Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

Respectfully,

Dr. Kim

sara on December 14, 2016:

wow, such a good, clear and simple explanation. it helps me too much. good work, please keep it in progress.

Irene on December 08, 2016:

great explanations simple n straight to the point

Joannah on November 22, 2016:

Wow! this is so helpful.Appreciated.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on November 07, 2016:

Thank you, visitors! I am glad I could help. Please do visit my Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney/

liz atieno on November 07, 2016:

Love your explanations.

gift on November 02, 2016:

this is just great

Ochieng Edwin on October 17, 2016:

Awesome job continued with the same spirit big up

princess E on August 18, 2016:

yes this work is life saving! good job. please keep on.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on January 24, 2016:

Thank you very much visitors for your wonderful comments. I am humbled. Cool your hard-working brains by visiting my hobby Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney

Check out the Photos Folder: I have tried to "document" all the bee-rescue missions I have conducted in "the Democratic People's Republic of Oklahoma" all my life.

Honey bees are now endangered largely because of two reasons: disappearance of foraging habitat and rampant pesticide use. Before you spray that chemical, please do think twice: Do you know the short and long term chemical reactions of that carcinogenic stuff? Would you eat its residue left dormant in honey, much less feeding it to your infant? Let's not choke our own throat by killing honey bees, please.

Respectfully,

Dr. Kim

BREE on January 23, 2016:

LOVE IT THANKS

benz18 on November 22, 2015:

wonderful article, i really appreciate it.

Tanikwe on October 10, 2015:

Your post is great, it has just helped me write an assignment. Thanx for your post.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on June 15, 2015:

Thank you all for your thoughtful and positive comments. Please feel free to visit my Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney

Gratefully,

Dr. Kim

Hussaina on May 31, 2015:

Very Sensetive

Dr. Kim on May 23, 2015:

I do value and appreciate your thoughtful comments everyone. Thank you.

Yoon Sik Kim (author) from Republic of Oklahoma on May 22, 2015:

Thank you very much for your excellent comments! Please visit my Facebook pages here:

https://www.facebook.com/YSKHoney

Dr. Kim

Johnk801 on May 21, 2015:

There is clearly a bundle to realize about this. I suppose you made some good points in features also. bdbakedekadc

Johnc529 on May 21, 2015:

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. Ill make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return. edkcdbdecedg

Johnd403 on May 21, 2015:

It is rare for me to uncover something on the web that's as entertaining and intriguing as what you have got here. Your page is sweet, your graphics are great, and what's much more, you use source that are relevant to what you're saying. That you are undoubtedly one in a million, well done! eeedkdedfdbd

Johna964 on May 21, 2015:

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way Ill be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly. kdkkceddeage

zakayo Mashauri on January 29, 2015:

Good work, keep it in progress.

Related Articles