Book Review: The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Updated on December 12, 2017
MacPharlain profile image

MacPharlain enjoys reading good books from many genres. His favorite is historical fiction and his favorite author is Patrick O'Brian.

Set in medieval England, The Pillars of the Earth is a gripping tale of the passions, intrigue, politics and greed surrounding the construction of a 12th century cathedral.

Medieval times, cathedrals, castles, knights, deception, love, rivalry and intrigue...sounds like an interesting story. Does this best selling book set in 12th century England live up to the hype?

Let's dig into The Pillars of the Earth and find out...

Plot Summary

What's this book about?

The central plot element of The Pillars of the Earth is the construction of a new cathedral in the fictional English town of Kingsbridge during the 12th century. But the story is really about the conflicts between the people building the cathedral and those who want to destroy it.

It is the early 12th century and England is about to erupt into civil war. The new prior of the monastery at Kingsbridge is determined to rebuild the current run down cathedral into one that will glorify God. He finds a young master builder who shares his vision of building the most beautiful cathedral in England.

Unfortunately, the local bishop is a power hungry man with other plans. He works to disrupt the prior's efforts at every turn. His frequent ally in this is a cruel and vengeful earl consumed by his own greed.

Cathedral Notre Dame, Chartres
Cathedral Notre Dame, Chartres | Source

Thoughts About "The Pillars of the Earth"

The story kept my interest and flowed well. The book is 970 pages but doesn't feel long at all. With a story spanning over 50 years (1123-1174) those pages are all needed to weave this multi-generational story together effectively.

Reading this was like a medieval emotional roller coaster. There are moments of love, joy and happiness mixed in with scenes of greed, cruelty, violence and tragedy.

The book is divided into six parts with a drawing of the cathedral in its current state for the start of each part. The drawings are well done and a nice touch.

It was interesting to learn more about medieval life while reading this book. Little everyday practices such as people walking right into someone's house unannounced or bringing your horse and other livestock inside the house added flavor to the story.

This is one of those books that so engrossed me in the story, it made me want to play a computer game related to the story line. In this case, it was Lords of the Realm II where you compete against other nobles (including an untrustworthy Bishop) to control the realm.

The Pillars of the Earth: A Novel (Kingsbridge)
The Pillars of the Earth: A Novel (Kingsbridge)

Follow the dreams, plots and drama behind the construction of the cathedral at Kingsbridge.

 

Writing Style

Follett does a good job of telling the story from multiple view points. Each section or chapter is told from the perspective of one of the main characters so you get an understanding of their thoughts and actions.

The descriptions of how the cathedral is designed and built are very well done. There is enough information to picture the construction in your mind and complement the story without overwhelming the reader in technical details.

One odd thing is that the characters speak as if they are living in modern times. There's very little use of language from the time period. Maybe I'm spoiled from reading the Aubrey-Maturin series by Patrick O'Brian, but I enjoy historical fiction more when the characters sound authentic to the period.

Salisbury Cathedral
Salisbury Cathedral | Source

What I Liked About This Book

1. An engaging story with interesting characters, plot twists and good pacing.

2. Detailed descriptions of the cathedrals, castles, battles and medieval life that enhance the story.

3. A cool glimpse into medieval times. I enjoyed learning about the construction of cathedrals, the political power struggles and the challenges of daily medieval life.

Cathedrale d'Amiens la nuit
Cathedrale d'Amiens la nuit | Source

My Rating of "The Pillars of the Earth"

Medieval times, cathedrals, castles, knights, trickery, love, rivalry and intrigue...there's something in this book for everyone. On top of that, it's a good read and I really enjoy good historical fiction.

5 stars for The Pillars of the Earth

How Do You Rate "The Pillars of the Earth"

See results

Historical Figures In "The Pillars of the Earth"

Several historical figures who lived during the years covered by the book were included in the story. Below are links to more info on the major historical characters:

Thomas Becket - Archbishop of Canterbury
Head of the Church of England, Thomas and Henry II were frequently in conflict over the independence of the church from the monarchy.

King Henry II

King Stephen
King of England during most of the story.

Empress Matilda
Referred to as Empress Maud in the book, she is the daughter of Henry I and rightful heir to the throne which her cousin Stephen claimed as his.

King Henry I

Robert - 1st Earl of Gloucester
Matilda's half brother and ally against King Stephen.

The White Ship
This ship sank in the English Channel while carrying the only legitimate heir to King Henry I. The sinking triggered several plot lines in the book.

Cathedral Image Credits

Cathedral Notre Dame, Chartres used under Creative Commons from ell brown.

Salisbury Cathedral used under Creative Commons from stevecadman.

Cathedrale d'Amiens la nuit used under Creative Commons from Nicolas Loeuillet.

Comments

Thanks for reading my book review. Please share your thoughts below on The Pillars of the Earth, cathedrals or anything medieval.

Your Review...

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      gracezylb2 

      5 years ago

      gosh! i learned from a previous professor that the pillars of the earth was a damn good novel and i just turned a blind ear to that. i was able to watch world without end on a cable channel and when i read this lens, i just learned that it's some sort of the same thing! got to buy a copy right noooow... hahahaha!

    • profile image

      keltron0 

      5 years ago

      Masterful

    • LabKittyDesign profile image

      LabKittyDesign 

      6 years ago

      Any opinion on the 2010 Starz adaptation? It would be interesting to hear how it compares to the book.

    • krior76 profile image

      krior76 

      6 years ago

      I've read it more than once... Yeah it's a long book but definitely worth all the hours I've spent reading it :-). I love follett's books.

      This lens was nicely done

    • MacPharlain profile imageAUTHOR

      MacPharlain 

      6 years ago

      @anonymous: It's a long book and well worth the read.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      It took me a long time to read it, but it was worth it. His descriptions of building the cathedral are amazing.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      Great book; very detailed so that you get a sense of the time.

    • natashaely profile image

      natashaely 

      6 years ago

      Your review allows me to decide whether I would read a book before I pick it up. I like the personal touches and enjoy your writing style. Another great page to add to my online squidoo library.

    • Millionairemomma profile image

      Millionairemomma 

      6 years ago

      What a great review. I love this auother so I enjoyed this lens.

    • GeorgeneMBramlage profile image

      Georgene Moizuk Bramlage 

      6 years ago from southwestern Virginia

      Very well done lens and book review. I love reading Ken Follett and really enjoyed "Pillars of the Earth," as did my husband. We also enjoyed the TV series of the same name.

    • BLouw profile image

      Barbara Walton 

      6 years ago from France

      While it isn't really my kind of book, the story is intriguing but the content is excellent. I assume it's a well-reaerched book as far as the facts go. I also loved the way that the characters that I asssume to be fictional - I'm on my way to find out if they are fact or fiction, rub shoulders with real historical figures. Nice review.

    • JeanJohnson LM profile image

      JeanJohnson LM 

      7 years ago

      Since I have been reading many Scott O'Dell books, I have enjoyed historical fiction. I'll have to check out "The Pillars of the Earth." It sounds very interesting!

    • jptanabe profile image

      Jennifer P Tanabe 

      7 years ago from Red Hook, NY

      Blessed by an angel on the Memorial Day bus trip!

    • MacPharlain profile imageAUTHOR

      MacPharlain 

      7 years ago

      @jptanabe: Thanks!

    • evelynsaenz1 profile image

      Evelyn Saenz 

      8 years ago from Royalton

      Just wanted to let you know that this lens is now featured on The Ramsay Scallop Medieval Unit Study.

    • Holley Web profile image

      Holley Web 

      8 years ago

      Nicely reviewed. I think I'm going to have to take a look at this book.

    • MikeMoore LM profile image

      MikeMoore LM 

      9 years ago

      Pillars of the Earth is one of my favorite books! The second one is out and is just as good. Maybe even better. You did a great job reviewing this book too. I've given this lens five stars and lensrolled it into my Godspeaker Trilogy lens ( https://hubpages.com/literature/godspeakertrilogy )

      Thanks for the read!

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      9 years ago

      This was by far the best book I have ever read. I went to bed and woke up thinking about it. I was actually sad when it ended. I was thrilled to learn about its sequel, World Without End, which was nearly as good as its father book. I just personally love the way Mr. Follett writes and now go looking for his titles when at the library. I read Whiteout, which was good. Nothing can compare to Pillars though. Never have I spent 8 hours a day reading a book--seriously, it was that good. I'm about to start on Eye of the Needle. Will try some of his other best-sellers after this. Happy reading!

    • profile image

      kit564 

      10 years ago

      This is my absolute FAVORITE book. World Without End was also a great read. ***** 5 Star Lens.. good job. Thanks.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)