"Democracy in Black" by Eddie S. Glaude Jr. (Book Review)

Updated on June 26, 2018
MsDora profile image

MsDora, seven-year online writer, shares poetry, creative writing, quotes and reflections on how writing and writers influence our lives.

The fact that the American people elected a black president in 2008 and 2012 may have caused some to believe that racism had faded into the past, and that the civil rights struggles of the 1960s were finally bearing large fruit. Eddie S. Glaude Jr. thinks differently. In Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul, he proposes that the value gap and the racial habits which sustain it never even diminished.

"Barack Obama, is of course, not the reason . . . But his presidency hasn't helped anything; rather he is emblematic of the problem. We've come so far as a nation that we can elect a black man to be president of the United States, but racial inequality gets worse on his watch."

Source

The Book and the Author

Democracy in Black was published in January 2016 by Broadway Books and is found in the Social Science, Ethnic Studies and African American Studies categories. Within its 274 pages, there are nine chapters with extras including an Afterword and Suggested Reading.

Glaude is currently the William S. Tod Professor of Religion and African American Studies at Princeton University. His first book, Exodus! Religion, Race, and Nation in Early Nineteenth-Century Black America published in 2000 won the Modern Language Association's Book Prize.

He is a native of Moss Point, Mississippi and a graduate of Morehouse College. He holds masters degrees in African-American studies from Temple University, and in religion from Princeton University.

Themes Throughout the Book

Glaude's aim in Democracy in Black is to expose the silence about what he calls the Great Black Depression, and to propose ideas which can rid American democracy of its racist baggage. He informs readers that:

  • Reports of recovery after the economic recession of 2008 does not include black communities. Percentages of black unemployment and home foreclosures are far above what they are in white communities. He gives the stories and statistics to prove it.
  • The white concept that blacks are dangerous and that black lives value less than whites are largely responsible for the deaths of young blacks like Michael Brown of Ferguson, Missouri; Trayvon Martin of Oakland, California; Sandra Bland from Hempstead, Texas and several others across the nation.

Glaude (center) at the “Ferguson is the Future" symposium

Photo by Sameer Khan, Fotobuddy LLC
Photo by Sameer Khan, Fotobuddy LLC | Source
  • Since racism was falsely declared gone following the Civil War and Reconstruction, and again after the passing of King's Civil Rights Act, and again after America elected a black president, many believe that blacks have no one but themselves to blame for their social and economic problems. They cite the examples of blacks in political and academic leadership as proof that all blacks can succeed.
  • Glaude names self-styled black leaders who are more of a hindrance than a help. They show up when the media is present, not because they have vested interest in the victims and their families, but because of the opportunity to add to the list of events they led.

Glaude on Reagan's Speech (1.5 mins.)

Personal Opinion

Coming from a background in which people in direct authority were mostly black, my interest in the value gap that Glaude writes about was sadly lacking. He clarifies through the stories he tells, and the comparative statistics he presents that black lives have been and are treated with less value than whites. It is hard not to take him seriously when he traces the common thread of racism downplay in the speeches of presidents as far back as Reagan right up to Obama.

Whether readers are fully aware, or considering Glaude's arguments for the first time, they will realize that there is still much work to be done, both by blacks and whites, in closing the gap and moving forward to the equal-opportunity America which the nation presently pretends to have.

It is impressive that he does more than diagnose the problem; he provides workable recommendations. In addition, his presentation is not difficult to follow.

Glaude's Recommendations

Glaude is of the opinion that the old self-styled black leaders have dropped the ball by sugar-coating the realities of America's racial habits, in an effort to avoid confrontation with those who would oppose them. It will take the boldness of younger people in grass roots organizations like Millennial Activists United from Ferguson, Missouri and Forward Together, a multi-racial organization from Oakland, California who are not afraid to disturb the peace in order to get attention. He gives illustrations of how these and similar organizations have worked in the past, and what he hopes they can accomplish in the future.

In addition, he lists and explains specific changes which must happen in the way people view government, how they view black people and how they decide what ultimately matters to Americans.

Disclosure

I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books (http://www.bloggingforbooks.com). The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Questions & Answers

    © 2017 Dora Weithers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        19 months ago from The Caribbean

        Shauna, your comment is kind and encouraging. I also agree with your observation on racism, and your perspective on how we should respond to it. Thanks!

      • bravewarrior profile image

        Shauna L Bowling 

        19 months ago from Central Florida

        I always enjoy your book reviews, Dora, whether they're books I would pick up or not - you're that good!

        Racism will never die in this country, or the world for that matter. Someone will always find the need to call the race card. All we can do is be the best we can be in our own section of this world and treat others as we'd like to be treated.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Catherine, you're absolutely right. Still hoping that all the writing and the reading on this issue will eventually make a difference.

      • CatherineGiordano profile image

        Catherine Giordano 

        20 months ago from Orlando Florida

        America still has a lot of work to do to become a post-racial society. Books like this one help define the issues and inspire the leaders of tomorrow. Thanks for this information.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Bill, thanks for reading. This book gives educated insights which will certainly awaken our interest in the topic.

      • lifegate profile image

        William Kovacic 

        20 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

        Another well-done book review, Dora. Much to think about here. I never read the book, but I have had contact with some of its passages. Thanks for another round of food for thought.

      • profile image

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago

        Martie, I value your input on this review. The topic is certainly familiar to you and my readers can learn from your observations.

      • MartieCoetser profile image

        Martie Coetser 

        20 months ago from South Africa

        Racism is most certainly a very sensitive reality all over the world. Being omnipresent, it is one of the most handy justifications for failure, below-average performance and wrong-doings. Racism and xenophobia - hating whomever doesn't belong to the clan - are deeply rooted in mankind's urge to survive and to have sovereign power (in order to ensure survival). Man's tendency to 'seek like' will forever lead to racism, xenophobia, classism, sexism, and all these kind of prejudice.

        Very thought-provoking review and encouragement to buy and read this book.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Audrey, the author is of the same opinion that there needs to be honest conversations about the matter. That would be a good start to decide how the nation follows through. Thanks for your observation.

      • AudreyHowitt profile image

        Audrey Howitt 

        20 months ago from California

        So interesting--I don't know the book or the author--and I live in the SF Bay Area-so right in the heart of the liberal heartland. I do think we are experiencing a blacklash of sorts after Obama--and I do not think we as a nation have had any sort of meaningful conversation on a national level about race--and until we do, race will continue to be an enigma to most--how to have that conversation is for me, the pivotal question

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        You're welcome, Alicia. The book has some very interesting information and the author gives some insightful interpretations.

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        20 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

        This sounds like an interesting book that is definitely worth reading. The topic is important. Thank you for introducing me to the writer and his work, Dora.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        And thank you for reading, Natalie, and for sharing your perspective. The author may be writing from a vantage point that's different from where you are; consequently individuals may find reason to agree with you and also with him if they shift their perspective. Matters like these are decided on the facts (which are usually different) each person has. I really appreciate your input.

      • Natalie Frank profile image

        Natalie Frank 

        20 months ago from Chicago, IL

        This is a well written and interesting review of what appears to be a book with an important message. Growing up in the south with some amazing black leaders including Rev. Abernathy, Congressman John Lewis and Mayor Andrew Young, I haven't considered the role of some black leaders in downplaying the discrepancies found between white and black communities in this country. It seems that black leaders perhaps fall into two camps, those that are focused on establishing equality of the races of those who are careful to avoid not just actual confrontation but feared confrontation and thus do the opposite by negating real differences. Those who sugar coat disparities are doing a monumental disservice to blacks and whites alike - blacks as when people don't see that certain differences exist they aren't going to try to change circumstances and whites because they will not be able to learn about black culture when there are settings they are not likely to encounter black peers. This also means that when differences are observed if black leaders fail to state why the differences are occurring that it could be presumed to be the fault of individual black or the population as a whole as opposed to our society continuing to fail to provide the same opportunities for black people as white people. This is an excellent review and I hope to be able to find the book. Thank you for opening my eyes a bit wider.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Coffequeen, if you are interested, the website for signing up is in my disclosure. I like the idea too, because I get to choose books that I think I can learn from, plus it gives me subject matter for an article (review). You are sure to find books that you like. Thanks for your comment.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        JG, I appreciate you including your wife in this topic. It means that you value her opinion; it also means that you respect what I have written. I can see what a fun exercise this will be for both of you. Thanks for your input and sincere regards to you both.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Thanks, Manatita. The books keep me company in bed before I fall asleep. I do enjoy that, plus I get another article to write for my review. Reading is easier than writing for me right now.

      • Coffeequeeen profile image

        Louise Powles 

        20 months ago from Norfolk, England

        It's a good idea that you get books sent to review and blog about. I like that idea. This sounds like an interesting read.

      • profile image

        jgshorebird 

        20 months ago

        Ms. Dora,

        It's such a "hot button" topic. I do not want to do it injustice. Still thinking on it. Letting my black wife -- I am white -- give me some input.

      • manatita44 profile image

        manatita44 

        20 months ago from london

        Well Dee,

        You are now an authority on these reviews. You seem to have the time too. I mean so many pages to read?

        I feel that you have done an excellent job, with a great degree of objectivity, after all, you are just presenting a review of the book as best you can. You gave me a sense of what it's all about and there in lies your great contribution. Joy and Peace.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        JG, I think I would have liked for you to write the long response. I'm anxious to hear you rebuttal to the professor's conclusions. We learn by listening to each other. Thanks anyway for your short answer

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Mary, that's a mystery for some of us who receive different messages from our parents and teachers. Thanks for sharing your observations.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Paula, there'll always be more books to read. One by one, you'll get the job done. Thanks for your very kind comment.

      • profile image

        jgshorebird 

        20 months ago

        Ms. Dora,

        I have read this and have considered. Initially, I had a long response, but have refrained. Suffice it to say, I enjoyed the professor's words, (watched one of his lectures) but have issues with his conclusions.

        Thanks for keeping my brain active.

      • Blond Logic profile image

        Mary Wickison 

        20 months ago from Brazil

        Great review Dora. Although I haven't lived in the US for many years, I think these problems have only become worse or at least that is the way the media shows it.

        There is another book called The New Jim Crow which puts forth the idea that laws were brought in to target blacks. Thus still enslaving them albeit in prisons.

        I don't know why Americans see a color first and then the person.

      • fpherj48 profile image

        Paula 

        20 months ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

        I truly enjoy book reviews and you've done a masterful job with this one. Thank you. I have such a stack of books waiting to be read, I need to get in gear and move!....Have a great day, Ms. Dora.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Flourish, the author agrees with you--a huge opportunity missed. Perhaps Obama thought that he would lose popularity or power if he got real. Thanks for your input.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Bill, the whole situation looks hopeless, doesn't it? Still, effort from every single person who adjusts his or her attitude may affect a family or community. Thanks for sharing your point of view.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        20 months ago from USA

        If there is anything that the Trump election exposed it is the fact that racism (as well as other forms of hate and fear) still is alive and well. As much as I love Obama I can say h missed a huge opportunity in not having a national conversation about race or in stirring people to act on the hope that got him elected.

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        20 months ago from Olympia, WA

        Wonderful review, my friend, and I'll add it to my book list. Racism, sadly, will not be eradicated during my lifetime. I wish the opposite,of course, but we are too big of a country here in the U.S. and it is impossible to change the wiring of over 350 million people.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Vladimir, I am encouraged to have you comment on my article. I understand and accept your position. It's a matter of different interests for different people. I welcome your input. Thank you.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Eric, we can only learn more from more discussion, if that is our intention. I like that you can state an opinion, but at the same time wanting to hear from someone else. Thanks for your balanced input.

      • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

        Dora Weithers 

        20 months ago from The Caribbean

        Lori, thanks for your valuable input. I have not paid much attention to this topic either, but I wanted to read this book because I wanted to understand the author's perspective that racism increased under the black president. I recommend the book because I think it will make other people aware, as it did me, of some pertinent facts that we do not have. I like your attitude of being open to know.

      • ValKaras profile image

        Vladimir Karas 

        20 months ago from Canada

        There are folks of all races who don't really make it in life---but when it befalls white folks, they can't use racism as an excuse. I will always have a problem understanding why so many---and I mean many other-than-white folks could achieve great successes in life, with no one standing in their way--- and that would include some billionaires, some people in art, science, especially music and sports, and yes, a president. Of course, I am not a sociologist, and I might be confused in these matters---it's only my uneducated impression. To be honest with you, I personally don't see why even talk about racism so much---we are all human beings.

      • Ericdierker profile image

        Eric Dierker 

        20 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

        I find this area extremely interesting. I will probably get the book or at least sit with it in the library.

        Personally I just feel that this is not a national issue for the US. The differences are so regional down to neighborhoods. And I think we are now in a time where attitudes are far more important.

        But I am all for the "speaking out of turn" in order to start more discussion.

        My wife is discriminated against in some places and I am in others. Go figure.

      • lambservant profile image

        Lori Colbo 

        20 months ago from Pacific Northwest

        You are very good at writing book reviews. How cool you get these free books to review.

        This one has me curious. I feel like racism here in the states amped up considerably when Obama got into office. I would never say racism is completely eradicated, as long is there are people there will always be some sort of racial, religious, or other kinds of bigotry but it seemed like the pendulum swung so far and there were issues with objectivity and hypocrisy, perhaps on both sides. I did not follow every story of cases similar to the Ferguson case really closely, but it seems like every time a black person was shot it was always racism, even when found the investigation said it was justified. Never mind there are many opposite incidents that are not made a media storm (shootings of white people by black cops). They both happen.

        I have not studied this issue in depth like the author so there are things I may not be aware of but he said some black leaders are part of the problem, they could handle things differently. I would say yes. I liked some of the things Ben Carson said because he grew up in an urban area with a large black population.

        What I have come to get upset over is that whenever a political candidate is deemed a racist (whether true or not) everyone who supports that candidate in general because of a diverse amount of issues that person stands for, all supporter/voters are called racists among other things. Guilty without knowing who supporters were personally. However, like I said, there are things I may not be informed well on. I will look into this book and read with an open mind. It's good to get perspectives on every side. The trick is to have discernment. Thanks for your review.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, owlcation.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://owlcation.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)